13 Most Anticipated Books of 2021 for Kids Ages 7+

Book Hauls | December 10, 2020

The holidays may be wrapping up – but for those kids with gift cards to redeem, the fun is just getting started! Whether kids are looking to get lost in a fantasy quest, mysterious caper, or historical adventure – there’s something for every reader on this list of the best books publishing for kids this new year. 

 

Amari and the Night Brothers – B.B. Alston

Artemis Fowl meets Men in Black in this supernatural fantasy adventure that follows thirteen year old Amari who’s search for her missing brother leads her to the mysterious and fantastical Bureau of Supernatural of Affairs. This series starter is perfect for fantasy readers and reluctant readers alike, with action packed adventure on every page. 

  • Available January 19, 2021

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

The World Between Blinks – Amie Kaufman and Ryan Graudin

A family vacation turns into a trip to another dimension in this fantasy novel where two cousins end up in the World Between Blinks – the place where things (like the city of Atlantis) and people (like Amelia Earhart) who are lost in our world end up. This entertaining blend of fiction and fact also contains real life info about the historical figures featured, and is great for aspiring time travelers. 

  • Available January 5, 2021

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

My Weird School Graphic Novel: Mr. Corbett Is in Orbit! – Dan Gutman and Jim Paillot

Whether your kid is already a fan of the hilarious My Weird School chapter book series, or is visiting Ella Mentry School for the first time – the humor, hijinks and out-of-this world art in the first-ever graphic novel in the series is sure to keep them entertained! 

  • Available January 5, 2021

 

 

 

 

 

Shaking Up the House – Yamile Saied Méndez

Kids who love a good prank or are curious about the lives of our nation’s first families will love this hilarious and heartfelt novel about a friendly prank war at the White House.

  • Available January 5, 2021

 

 

 

 

 

 

Clues to the Universe – Christina Li

Combining a focus on STEM concepts with a nuanced handling of tough topics, fans of Rebecca Stead will love this remarkable and sensitive tale about two unlikely friends who bond over their search for answers to some of life’s biggest questions – from how to successfully launch a rocket to dealing with the loss of a loved one. 

  • Available January 12, 2021

 

 

 

 

 

Root Magic – Eden Royce

This captivating historical fantasy is set in 1960s South Carolina and offers young readers an exploration of the pre-Civil Rights era South, along with African American folk magic based on West African spiritual traditions and the folklore and traditions of the Geechee people and the Gullah. It’s an atmospheric read filled with courage, friendship, and Black girl magic.

  • Available January 5, 2021

 

 

 

 

Bump – Matt Wallace

Calling all wrestling fans (and anyone who loves to root for the underdog!) this tale of a young girl who idolizes luchadores, joins a local wrestling school, and ends up finding not only a new family but a hero within herself – is perfect for readers of Jason Reynolds’ Track series and Kelly Yang’s Front Desk

  • Available January 26, 2021

 

 

 

 

 

TBH #7: TBH, No One Can EVER Know – Lisa Greenwald

The penultimate book in this hilarious and all-too-relatable middle grade series explores mother daughter relationships and the drama of Valentine’s Day. Reluctant readers will love the unique format of this series, told entirely in text messages, emojis, and passed notes. Existing fans will be eager to scoop up the next installment and new readers can catch up before the final book in the series releases later this year. 

  • Available January 12, 2021

 

 

 

The Ice Monster – David Walliams

Class clowns and fans of Gordon Korman will love this latest hilarious adventure from comedian and bestselling author David Walliams. Follow a young orphan girl who makes the unlikeliest of friends – a centuries old, recently un-frozen Wooly Mammoth! With humor reminiscent of Roald Dahl and hijinks galore, this book will keep kids laughing until the very last page. 

  • Available March 2, 2021

 

 

 

 

Animal Rescue Agency – Eliot Schrefer

Perfect for readers ages 7-10, this animal caper combines age appropriate humor with entertaining illustrations and short chapters. With plenty of hijinks throughout, it’s a must-read for fans of The Secret Life of Pets and Zootopia

  • Available January 12, 2021

 

 

 

 

 

Stick Dog Takes Out Sushi – Tom Watson

The 11th book in the bestselling, highly illustrated series follows the lovable Stick Dog on his never-ending quest for food. This time the target is sushi, as Stick Dog and his pack of pooches embark on a quest across the park. Fans of humorous illustrated series like Dog Man, Big Nate, and Diary of a Wimpy Kid simply must meet Stick Dog! 

  • Available February 9, 2021

 

 

 

 

 

From the Desk of Zoe Washington – Janae Marks

New in paperback this January, this acclaimed novel follows Zoe Washington after she receives an unexpected letter on her twelfth birthday from the incarcerated father she’s never met and her courageous journey to uncover the truth about his crime.

  • Available January 5, 2021

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

Starfell #1: Willow Moss and the Lost Day – Dominique Valente

This magical series is perfect for fans of Nevermoor and Terry Pratchett, and follows an underrated young witch who must put her powers to the test to save the land of Starfell. Readers in search of a whimsical adventure can snap up the paperback of the first book in this series before the second releases in late January.

  • Book #1 paperback available December 22, 2020
  • Book #2 available January 26, 2021

On Our Shelf

Related Articles