14 Books About Family

Getting Real | October 25, 2021

14 Books About Family

Families come in all shapes and sizes and each has their own unique challenges. Here are 14 of our favorite books for readers 8+ all about family.

We Dream of Space

Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly transports readers to 1986 and the Challenger explosion in this middle grade novel about family, friendship, tragedy, science, and exploration. For readers of Kate DiCamillo, Rita Williams-Garcia, and Rebecca Stead. 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

Final Season 

A #1 New York Times bestseller! 

From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a gripping, deeply personal standalone football novel about a star middle school quarterback faced with a life-changing decision after his dad is diagnosed with ALS/Lou Gehrig’s disease. 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

A Soft Place to Land

When Joy father loses his job and her family downsizes to a small apartment, she feels like her life’s on hold. But soon Joy settles in, makes new friends, and becomes a pen pal with a mysterious letter writer inside her apartment complex who seems to understand exactly what she’s going through. Don’t miss this compassionate novel about the meaning of home from Janae Marks, the critically-acclaimed author of From the Desk of Zoe Washington 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

The Samosa Rebellion 

The Samosa Rebellion is an action-packed story about a young boy who joins a secret rebellion to help rescue his grandmother from a relocation camp after their country’s descent into xenophobia. Fans of The Night Diary and Front Desk will devour this page-turning adventure about community, family, and courage! 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

Pax, Journey Home

Calling all animal lovers! This sequel to the #1 New York Times bestselling novel Pax is a powerful and timeless tale of a boy, a fox, and the unshakable bonds of found family, from award-winning author Sara Pennypacker and Caldecott Medalist Jon Klassen. P.S. it has baby foxes!  

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

Finding Junie Kim

Inspired by author and We Need Diverse Books co-founder Ellen Oh family’s real-life experiences during the Korean War, this contemporary novel about a Korean American girl coming to terms with her cultural identity will steal reader’s hearts! Dive in and meet Junie, a middle school student who learns about her grandparents’ experiences during the Korean War and channels their strength to stand up to racism at school. 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

We Are Family

An inspiring, original middle grade novel by NBA superstar LeBron James and acclaimed author Andrea Williams that follows five new friends as they band together to save their basketball season and prove that sometimes getting a chance is all it takes.  

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

 

A Secret Shared

From Newbery Medal-winning author Patricia MacLachlan comes a poignant middle grade novel that follows the unraveling of a family’s secret when two older siblings discover through a mail-order DNA test kit that their youngest sister was adopted. 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

 

Glitter Gets Everywhere 

A wry novel about a young girl navigating a transatlantic move while mourning her mother that explores the grief of losing a beloved family member, the fears of starting over, and the challenges of remaking a family. 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

 

The Mending Summer

 From critically acclaimed author Ali Standish comes The Mending Summer, about a girl who’s sent away to her mysterious great aunt’s house in the country to avoid her alcoholic father. There she discovers a magical wishing lake and ultimately, the courage to mend her heart back together again.  

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

Healer of the Water Monster 

Brian Young’s (Navajo) powerful contemporary debut tells the story of a seemingly ordinary Navajo boy who must save the life of a Water Monster—and help his uncle suffering from addiction—by discovering his own bravery and boundless love. 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

 

Ahmed Aziz’s Epic Year 

A young Indian American boy endures moving from Hawaii to Minnesota for his dad’s treatment and—with the help of three life-changing books—unearths family history and revelations about himself along the way. 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

 

Clues to the Universe 

In this emotional family and STEM-themed story from Christina Li, two new science class partners become friends as they build a rocket together and uncover secrets about their fathers, differences, and some of the biggest questions in the universe. ⁠ 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

 

Ancestor Approved: Intertribal Stories for Kids

Edited by award-winning and bestselling author Cynthia Leitich Smith, this collection of intersecting stories by both new and veteran Native writers bursts with hope, joy, resilience, the strength of community, and Native pride. 

 

Read Excerpt

On Our Shelf

Related Articles