9 Books to Read if You Like Percy Jackson

Action & Adventure | May 15, 2019

Love the humor, heart, and pulse-pounding adventure in Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympian series? If you’ve finished (and are as obsessed with Percy Jackson as we are), but can’t decide what to read next, we’ve got 9 books and series that will send you on an all new adventure!

1. Odd Gods by David Slavin and Daniel Weitzman

Odd Gods Book CoverOddonis may be the son of Zeus, but he’s a little bit…odd for a God. He’s so odd, in fact, he’s not sure if he has any powers at all. And if that isn’t enough, his twin brother Adonis is the most popular, most athletic, and most otherworldly handsome God of them all. When Oddonis decides to run against his brother to be class president at Mount Olympus Middle, he sets out to win the race and prove that he and his other odd friends are just as good as any Greek God.

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

2. Wings of Olympus Kallie George

Aloft the slopes of mighty Mount Olympus, among the sun-splashed meadows and sparkling waters, glide the steeds of the Gods, the winged horses. Once every hundred years, the gods and goddesses descend to the mortal realm to choose jockeys for their winged horse race—and Pippa is one of the children chosen to ride. With her winged companion, Zephyr, under her, Pippa has to confront the greatest challenge of her life—achieving victory in flight.

 

 

 

 

3. Max Tilt series by Peter Lerangis

Max Tilt Book CoverWhen Max Tilt happens upon his great-great-great-grandfather Jules Verne’s unfinished, unpublished manuscript, The Lost Treasures, he doesn’t realize that he’s found the answers to all his problems. And Max has a lot of problems—his mother is sick, his father is out of work, and his home is about to be foreclosed on. But when Max and his cousin Alex discover that Verne’s last work reveals everything he wrote was fact, not fiction, they realize that the book holds the key to something incredibly valuable. A treasure that can save his house—and maybe his entire family.

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

 

4. Riders of the Realm series by Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

Riders of the Realm Book CoverThe Sandwen clan believe they have tamed all the wild pegasi in their land and turned them into flying warhorses to use against the deadly spit dragons and giants in their land. But, when a wild herd flies over their village, they’re stunned to learn this isn’t the case. The herd of pegasi have journey across the ocean to settle in a new, free land, but when the unthinkable happens, the Sandwen and the pegasi will have to team together, or both may not survive!

 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

5. Float by Laura Martin

Float Book CoverEmerson can float…he just can’t do it very well. His uncontrollable floating is his RISK factor, which means that he deals with Reoccurring Incidents of the Strange Kind. While spending the summer at a government-mandated summer camp for RISK kids like him, he and his new friends discover that one of their own is hiding a deadly secret that puts all of their lives in danger.

 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

6. The School for Good and Evil series by Soman Chainani

When Sophie and Agatha are kidnapped and taken to the School for Good and Evil, golden Sophie gets dropped at the School for Evil and wicked Agatha at the School for Good. Though both girls believe there’s been a mistake, they must work together to figure out the mystery School Master’s riddle and make it home alive.

 

 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

7. Seven Wonders series by Peter Lerangis

This New York Times bestselling series takes the reader to each of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. When Jack McKinley learns he’s going to die in a few short months, he must locate all seven magic Loculi that have been hidden in the Seven Wonders in order to save his life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8. Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage

Septimus Heap, the seventh son of the seventh son, disappears the night he is born, pronounced dead by the midwife. That same night, the baby’s father, Silas Heap, comes across an abandoned child in the snow — a newborn girl with violet eyes. Who is this mysterious baby girl, and what really happened to the Heaps’ beloved son Septimus?

 

 

 

 

 

 

9. Elementals series by Peter Lerangis

Twins Anders and Rayna are elementals — shapeshifters who transform to either an ice wolf or a scorch dragon. The two elementals have always been sworn enemies, so when Anders transforms into an ice wolf, and Rayna into a scorch dragon, their family becomes divided as Rayna is taken away to be with the other cruel dragons who claim her as one of their own. To save his sister, Anders will do whatever it takes — even if it means betraying his own kind.

 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

On Our Shelf

Related Articles