Blast Off With These Space Books!

Action & Adventure | July 17, 2019

Saturday, July 20th is the 50th Anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing! Go on our own intergalactic adventure with these 14 space books–perfect for fans of Star Wars or Star Trek!

1. Space Runners series by Jeramey Kraatz

Benny believes that a scholarship to visit the moon is the beginning of a fresh start for his family back on Earth. But the Moon is a long way from home and when dark secrets start to unravel, Benny learns that soon there may not even be an Earth to go back to.

 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

2. Last Day on Mars series by Kevin Emerson

The year is 2213 and Earth has long since been been burned to a cinder by the sun. The human race fled to Mars, which was only ever a temporary solution, and now they’ve begun the evacuation to a new home on a distant star. Liam and Phoebe are scheduled for the last starliner to depart… or so they think. But before the day is over, they’ll make a series of discoveries about time and space that threatens the survival of all mankind.

 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

3. Daniel Coldstar series by Stel Pavlou


This epic outer space adventure begins in the mines of a forgotten planet and then zooms all over the galaxy as Daniel Coldstar discovers a relic that might be his ticket to freedom… except for the fact that others are seeking it as well. Can he escape and save his friends, too?

 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

4. The Search For Wondla by Toni DiTerlizzi

When her underground sanctuary is destroyed, Eva Nine is forced to flee aboveground to search for the existence of other humans on her strange alien planet. With the help of a few new friends, Eva sets off on a quest to discover who she is and where she belongs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Chasing Space: Young Readers’ Edition by Leland Melvin

What could be more epic than actual experiences from a NASA astronaut? This inspiring memoir by football star turned astronaut Leland Melvin follows his journey from the field to outer space and back again!

 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

 

6. Sputnik’s Guide to Life on Earth by Frank Cottrell Boyce

With his grandfather unable to care for him any longer, Prez is sent to live with a foster family in the country where he meets Sputnik – an alien that looks like a dog to everyone except Prez. Sputnik is tasked with coming up with 10 reasons why the Earth should be saved from destruction. Together, he and Prez will set out to discover just what makes our world so remarkable.

 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

7. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

When Meg’s father disappears after experimenting with a fifth dimension, she and two friends will do anything to save him. Their journey takes through space and time and to far away lands where they meet people of different lifeforms and discover an evil plot that they must outsmart to save themselves, Meg’s father, and their world.

 

 

 

 

 

 

8. The Countdown Conspiracy by Katie Slivensky

After a grueling selection process, six kids are chosen to train for the first-ever mission to Mars. But when one of the kids, Miranda, starts receiving threatening messages, it becomes clear that someone is trying to prevent her from completing the mission. After a routine test launch goes wrong, the cadets find themselves in space earlier than expected and must prove they have what it takes to be astronauts and find a way to get home.

 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

9. Hidden Figures: Young Readers’ Edition by Margot Lee Shetterly

Now a major motion picture, this is the untold true story of four African-American female mathematicians who helped provide NASA with the calculations that launched them into space!

 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

 

10. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

This classic story is about a boy’s search for home and companionship. A stranded pilot narrates the Little Prince’s journey form planet to planet, each tiny world populated by a different adult who teaches him something new about himself and the world, as they both dream about finding their way home.

 

 

 

 

 

 

11. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Ender and his siblings are very different even though they’ve all been genetically bred to be super geniuses destined to help fight off an invading alien race. When young Ender is drafted to the Battle School for rigorous military training, he must make the decisions necessary to become the general Earth needs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

12. The Jupiter Pirates by Jason Fry

In this epic tween sci-fi adventure series from Star Wars franchise author Jason Fry, three siblings in a family of privateers must compete to determine who will be the next ship captain when their mother steps down, all while battling space pirates, Earth diplomats, and even treachery from within the family.

 

 

 

 

 

 

13. Mars Evacuees by Sophia McDougall

The war with the aliens is not exactly going well and saving the solar system isn’t exactly on Alice Dare’s to-do list, but when you’ve been shipped off to Mars while the adults battle aliens back home and then the adults on the Mars base disappear… well, it’s up to the kids to save the Earth from disaster.

 

 

 

 

 

 

14. Margot and Mateo Save the World by Darcy Miller

Though not set in space, two unlikely heroes discover that an alien race has invaded their town and started taking over the townspeople one by one. Now, it’s up to them to save their town – and the world – from becoming overrun in this hilarious action-packed adventure!

 

 

Read Excerpt

 

 

 

Ready for takeoff? Let your reading commence in five…four…three…two…one!

On Our Shelf

Related Articles