May Most Anticipated

Popular | May 4, 2020

11 New Books for May

May is here which means summer (and summer reading!) is just around the corner. Its the perfect time to start stocking up on new books for the coming weeks to keep your kids engaged as school comes to an end but we continue to practice social distancing. Despite hard times, there are some truly amazing books coming out this May, and we can’t wait to check a few of them off our TBR lists!

 

1. The One and Only Bob by Katherine Applegate

Set after the events of The One and Only Ivan, lovable dog, Bob, sets out on a dangerous journey in search of his long-lost sister with the help of his two best friends, Ivan and Ruby. As a hurricane approaches and time is running out, Bob finds courage he never knew he had and learns the true meaning of friendship and family.

  • On sale May 5, 2020
  • Also available as an audiobook and eBook
  • Also check out The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate. Available now in paperback and soon to be a major motion picture!

 

 

2. We Dream of Space by Erin Entrada Kelly

Cash, Fitch, and Bird Thomas are three siblings in seventh grade together in Park, Delaware. In 1986, as the country waits expectantly for the launch of the Space Shuttle Challenger, they each struggle with their own personal anxieties.

Cash, who loves basketball but has a newly broken wrist, is in danger of failing seventh grade for the second time. Fitch spends every afternoon playing Major Havoc at the arcade on Main and wrestles with an explosive temper that he doesn’t understand. And Bird, his twelve-year-old twin, dreams of being NASA’s first female shuttle commander, but feels like she’s disappearing.

The Thomas children exist in their own orbits, circling a tense and unpredictable household, with little in common except an enthusiastic science teacher named Ms. Salonga. As the launch of the Challenger approaches, Ms. Salonga gives her students a project—they are separated into spacecraft crews and must create and complete a mission. When the fated day finally arrives, it changes all of their lives and brings them together in unexpected ways.

  • On sale May 5, 2020
  • Also available as an audiobook and eBook
  • Also check out Erin Entrada Kelly’s Newbery Medal-winning title, Hello, Universe. Available now in paperback.

3. Becoming Brianna by Terri Libenson

For readers who like graphic novels!

Middle school is full of challenges.

Everyone knows how much brainy Bri likes the spotlight (not). So why did she ever agree to something that forces her to learn a new language, give a speech, help organize a party, and juggle drama at school and home?! As the big event inches closer, Bri wonders if it’s all worth it. . . .

 

4. One Last Shot by John David Anderson

A favorite for sensitive boy readers!

For as long as he can remember, Malcolm has never felt like he was good enough. Not for his parents, who have always seemed at odds with each other, with Malcolm caught in between. And especially not for his dad, whose competitive drive and love for sports Malcolm has never shared.

That is, until Malcolm discovers miniature golf, the one sport he actually enjoys. Maybe it’s the way in which every hole is a puzzle to be solved. Or the whimsy of the windmills and waterfalls that decorate the course. Or maybe it’s the slushies at the snack bar. But whatever the reason, something about mini golf just clicks for Malcolm. And best of all, it’s a sport his dad can’t possibly obsess over.

Or so Malcolm thinks.

Soon he is signed up for lessons and entered in tournaments. And yet, even as he becomes a better golfer and finds unexpected friends at the local course, be wonders if he might not always be a disappointment. But as the final match of the year draws closer, the tension between Malcolm’s parents reaches a breaking point, and it’s up to him to put the puzzle of his family back together again.

  • On sale May 5, 2020
  • Also available as an audiobook and eBook
  • Also check out Posted, Ms. Bixby’s Last Day, and Finding Orion also by John David Anderson!

5. Camp Murderface by Saundra Mitchell and Josh Berk

For fans of Stranger Things!

The year: 1983. The place: Ohio. The camp: Scary as heck.

Camp Sweetwater is finally reopening, three decades after it mysteriously shut down. Campers Corryn Quinn and Tez Jones have each had more than enough of their regular lives—they’re so ready to take their summer at Sweetwater by storm.

But before they can so much as toast one marshmallow, strange happenings start…happening. Can they survive the summer? Or will Camp Sweetwater shut down for good this time—with them inside?

  • On sale May 26, 2020
  • Also available as an audiobook and eBook

6. A Ceiling Made of Eggshells by Gail Carson Levine

Celebrate Jewish Heritage Month with this historical fiction book by a beloved author!

Surrounded by her large family, Loma is happy living in the judería of Alcalá de Henares, Spain, and wants nothing more than to someday have a family of her own.

Still, when her intimidating grandfather, her Belo, decides to bring her along on his travels, she’s excited to join him. Belo has the ear of King Ferdinand and Queen Isabella, and Loma relishes her adventures with him, adventures that are beyond the scope of most girls of the time. She soon learns just how dangerous the world is for the Jews of Spain, and how her grandfather’s influence keeps their people safe.

But the older Loma gets, the more she longs to realize her own dreams—if Belo will ever allow her to leave his side.

  • On sale May 12, 2020
  • Also available as an audiobook and eBook

7. Summer at Meadow Wood by Amy Rebecca Tan

Vic Brown did not want to go to camp this summer.

Even though it’s nice being back with her friends at Meadow Wood, Vic still can’t forget about the secret reason her mom wanted her and her brother out of the house—or how much her family is going to change. When her home life is blowing up, it can be hard to focus on campfires and canoeing.

But there is something about summer and surprises that go together like blueberry pancakes and maple syrup. And soon, Vic starts to feel like—just maybe—a summer at Meadow Wood was exactly what she needed.

  • On sale May 19, 2020
  • Also available as an audiobook and eBook

 

8. What Happens Next by Claire Swinarski

Astronomy-obsessed Abby McCourt should be thrilled about the solar eclipse her small town of Moose Junction is about to witness, but she’s not. After her older sister Blair was sent away for an eating disorder, Abby has been in a funk.

Desperate to dull the pain her sister’s absence has left, she teams up with a visiting astronomer to help track down his long-lost telescope. Though this is supposed to take Abby’s mind off the distance between her and Blair, what she finds may bring her closer to her sister than she ever thought.

  • On sale May 19, 2020
  • Also available as an audiobook and eBook

9. York: The Map of the Stars by Laura Ruby

The thrilling final book in this mystery series!

It was only a few days ago that Tess Biedermann, Theo Biedermann, and Jaime Cruz, along with a mysterious figure from the past, managed to survive an assault on the location of the latest clue in the Morningstarr cipher—and, in the process, made a shocking discovery about their own connection to this one-hundred-sixty-year-old enigma.

Now the friends are divided. Tess and Theo have no idea what the photo they found in Greenwood Cemetery means, but Jaime is convinced that they do, and that they’ve been keeping their own secrets from him. As the city continues to break around them, suddenly solving the greatest mystery of the modern world seems less important than saving their own friendship.

The stakes of completing the cipher, however, have never been higher. Darnell Slant, real estate developer and owner of all the Morningstarr buildings, knows that they hold one last secret: a power that even the Morningstarrs themselves never revealed. The world has rested on a precarious balance of power for generations; now Slant and his shadowy business partners aim to unbalance it.

It’s up to Tess, Theo, and Jaime to uncover the Morningstarrs’ final mystery in a desperate attempt to set things right. The world—theirs, and possibly others—depends on it.

10. Throwback: The Chaos Loop by Peter Lerangis

Ever since Corey Fletcher found out that he’s the world’s first “throwback,” with the power to not only visit history, but change it, he’s been spending as much time in the past as possible. Corey loves using his skills to fix problems and help his friends and family. But as Corey becomes more and more addicted to rewriting history, he learns that time travel might change him in ways he may never be able to reverse.

Aware now that he can’t keep going into the past forever, Corey decides to use the trips he still has to change history in the most meaningful way he can imagine: by stopping Adolf Hitler. But when Corey travels back to World War II-era Germany, he quickly learns that the forces of history are strong and that it’s going to take a lot more than his good intentions to turn back the tides of evil—or even to survive them.

  • On sale May 5, 2020
  • Also available as an audiobook and eBook
  • Also check out Book 1 Throwback, now available in paperback!

11. Demon Dentist by David Walliams

For fans of Gordon Korman and Dav Pilkey!

Something strange is happening in Alfie’s town. Instead of shiny coins from the Tooth Fairy, kids are waking up to dead slugs, live spiders, and other dreadfully icky things under their pillows.

Who would do something so horrific? Alfie is sure that Miss Root, the creepy new dentist in town, is behind it all. There’s nothing Alfie hates more than going to the dentist, but to solve this mystery, he may have to book a dreaded appointment….

  • On sale May 5, 2020
  • Also available as an audiobook and eBook

 

Join Shelf Stuff for Summer Reading! Each week this summer, we’re challenging you to read one of our favorite books and take a quiz on that book to test your knowledge. Each quiz you take enters you to win our Shelf Stuff VIP prize pack!

Learn more by visiting our Summer Reading Homepage

Are you up for the challenge…

On Our Shelf

Related Articles